in an advisory capacity to the Government of Canada and to delegates from the Government of Canada to conferences arising out of the organizations beforenamed" The office of the Canadian Advisory Officer is situated at 41. Quai-Wilson, Geneva.

PART V.—CANADA AND THE LEAGUE OF NATIONS.1

The League of Nations is an association of States which have pledged themselves, in accepting the Covenant (i.e., the constitution of the League), not to go to war before submitting their disputes with each other or States not Members of the League to arbitration or inquiry and a delay of from three to nine months. Furthermore, any State violating this pledge is automatically in a state of outlawry with the other States, which are bound to sever all economic and political relations with the defaulting member. The States Members of the League have pledged themselves to co-operate over a wide range of economic, social, humanitarian and labour questions.

The League of Nations came formally into existence on Jan. 10, 1920, through the coming into force of the Treaty of Versailles. The two official languages of the League are English and French. The seat of the League is Geneva, Switzerland. Canada, as a signatory of the Treaty of Versailles, has been a Member of the League from the beginning.

The Organs of the League.—The primary organs of the League are: (1) The Council; (2) The Assembly; (3) The Secretariat; (4) The International Labour Organization (see Chap. XIX); (5) The Permanent Court of International Justice.

The Council.—The Council now consists of five permanent Members (the British Empire. France, Italy, Japan² and Germany), together with nine nonpermanent Members elected for three years (three retiring each year) from among the fifty-four States which are Members of the League. The non-permanent Members of the Council are at present as follows: Guatemala, Irish Free State and Norway, terms expiring 1933; Panama, China and Spain, terms expiring 1934; Czechoslovakia, the United States of Mexico and Poland, terms expiring 1935. Canada was a Member of the Council of the League from 1927 to 1930.

The Assembly.—Every State Member of the League is entitled to be represented by a delegation to the Assembly of not more than three delegates, but has only one vote. The Assembly normally meets at the seat of the League (Geneva) on the first Monday in September. In 1930, the Canadian delegation was headed by Rt. Hon. Sir R. L. Borden; in 1931, by the Hon. Hugh Guthrie and in 1932, by the Hon. C. H. Cahan. At the extraordinary Assembly in March, 1932, Rt. Hon. Sir G. H. Perley was the senior delegate.

The Secretariat.—The Secretariat is a permanent organ composed of the Secretary-General and a number of officials selected from among citizens of all Member

A fuller article on Canada and the League of Nations, contributed by N. A. Robertson of the Department of External Affairs to the 1931 Year Book, gave the names of the States Members of the League, information regarding the budget of the League, mandates, minorities, the economic and financial organization, the organization for communications and transit, the health organization and social and humanitarian work of the League, in addition to fuller treatments of the subjects here dealt with. This article appeared at pp. 115-22 of the 1931 Year Book. The text of the Covenant of the League of Nations, and the General Act for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes, may be obtained from the Kine's Printer Ottage price Scentz. King's Printer, Ottawa, price 25 cents.

2 Japan gave formal notice of intention to withdraw from the League on March 27, 1933.